Try to do a Wall Handstand

In my obstacle course related escapades, I’ve discovered I’ve got some pretty shitty upper body strength. I can lift a decent amount so long as I can use my legs as leverage, but when it comes to straight upper body I basically have piddly little t-rex arms for all the use they do me. Wacky waving inflatable arm flailing tube man has more grip strength than me.

8001741433_ac79116e86_b
Pictured: Schwarzenegger.

I’ve been trying to figure out ways to improve that area beyond just doing pull-up variations (since I’m going to need a fucking lot of it in the coming months), and it came to me: motherfucking handstands.

Now, I’ve never been able to do so much as a headstand before, so this is a big ask. It’ll take a lot of effort to work up to, and embarrassing moments will be had between now and actually achieving this feat. But, well, there are a number of walls in my house, and any one of them is as good a place to start as any, so off I went.

Or, rather, off I tried to go. Turns out my wrists are so weak in comparison to my entire body’s mass that every time I tried to invert myself in any significant way I’d crumple like a dollar bill in a hooker’s g-string. From there I tried to do a wall assisted headstand, which went slightly better for me, but the second I tried to get both my legs inverted I’d tip sideways and eat shit again.

So, for the time being, it’s core work on the schedule for me. I’ll keep doing upper body exercises in the mean time to help build up the other muscles needed for a headstand, but core is going to be instrumental for me.

Fucking planks on the horizon. What a bleak existence.

2 thoughts on “Try to do a Wall Handstand

  1. I always find with body weight training it helps to jump into the movement when starting rather than trying to do the pull. Then when stronger reduce the force of the jump. Naturally jumping into a handstand doesn’t work 😅

    Like

Leave a Reply

